Change the world

Mechanical Engineering


Academic Staff
Mr Karl du Preez
Mr Karl du Preez
Position: Principal Lecturer
Department: Mechanical Engineering
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3644
Fax: 27 41 504 9644
Email: karl.dupreez@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MTech (Mech Eng)

Mr Gideon Gouws
Mr Gideon Gouws
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mechanical Engineering
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3553
Email: gideon.gouws@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: B Tech Mech Eng(PET)

Mr Clive Hands
Mr Clive Hands
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mechanical Engineering
Room: E007E
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3375
Fax: 27 41 504 9375
Email: Clive.Hands@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc Hons (Mech Eng) (Natal-Durban)

Professor Danie Hattingh
Professor Danie Hattingh
Position: Professor in Mechanical Engineering and Technology Manager
Department: Mechanical Engineering
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3608
Email: Danie.Hattingh@nmmu.ac.za

Mr Gysbert Kleyn
Mr Gysbert Kleyn
Position: Head of Department
Department: Mechanical Engineering
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3288
Fax: 27 41 504 9288
Email: gysbert.kleyn@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MTech (Mech Eng)

Prof Hannalie Lombard
Dr Hannalie Lombard
Position: Associate Professor
Department: Mechanical Engineering
Room: M144
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3277
Email: hannalie.lombard@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (Plymouth University Faculty of Technology)

Dr Russell  Phillips
Dr Russell Phillips
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Mechanical Engineering
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3609
Fax: 27 41 504 9609
Email: russell.phillips@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: M Dip Tech (Mech Eng), M Dip Tech (Mech Eng) (PET)

Mr William Rall
Mr William Rall
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Mechanical Engineering
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3552
Fax: 27 41 504 9123
Email: william.rall@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: M Tech Mech Eng(PET), Chairman SAIMechE EC, Pr. Tech

Mr Trevor Stroud
Mr Trevor Stroud
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mechanical Engineering
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3565
Fax: 27 41 504 9565
Email: trevor.stroud@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: NHD Mech Eng, BTech Bus Admin, MBA

Mr Howard Theunissen
Mr Howard Theunissen
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mechanical Engineering
Room: E22A
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 2011
Fax: 27 41 504 1558
Email: howard.theunissen@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: M Tech (Mechanical Engineering)

Part-time Staff members
leanneb
leanne becker
Department: Faculty of Engineering, the Built Environment and Information Technology
Room: E 001
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 0415043287
Fax: 0415049287
Email: leanne.becker@nmmu.ac.za

Technical Staff
Mr Jakkie Van Der Mescht
Mr Jakkie Van Der Mescht
Position: Senior Artisan
Department: Mechanical Engineering
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3373
Email: jakkie@nmmu.ac.za

Mr Eric Sambu
Mr Eric Sambu
Position: Laboratory Assistant
Department: Mechanical Engineering
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3576
Email: Eric.Sambu@nmmu.ac.za

Mr Mervin Knoesen
Mr Mervin Knoesen
Position: Senior Technician
Department: Mechanical Engineering
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3287
Fax: 27 41 504 9287
Email: Mervin.Knoesen@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: NTD Mech(PET)

Mr Glynne Charles Erasmus
Mr Glynne Erasmus
Position: Technician
Department: Mechanical Engineering
Room: E16
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3553
Fax: 27 41 504 9123
Email: Glynne.Erasmus@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: N.Dip Metallurgical Engineering (Physical)

Administrative Staff
Ms Madelein Brown
Ms Madelein Brown
Position: Administrative Professional
Department: Mechanical Engineering
Room: M144
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3285
Fax: 27 41 504 9285
Email: madelein.brown@nmmu.ac.za